Musings from a promise-collector

About Prayer…


(This is a message I sent out the ladies in our small group – our topic this month is on prayer and is based off of what was shared with us in our last meeting and the handout that was given to us. View that here: Prayer – Mary Lynn 2.6.14)

Hey ladies,

I hope that you are all having a good week and staying safe in this snow! I feel a bit like I have neglected my duties last semester, but God has given me a season of rest. So I guess that was rest from writing, as well. But I feel like I might be released to write again, so hopefully I can be more consistent this semester. With that being said… let’s talk about our topic of the month:

Prayer

I loved what Mary Lynn shared with us about all of the different types of prayer. But I also think that there is a danger of feeling the need to perform and live up to things. The main point is that God is constantly growing us in that area as we grow more intimate with Him. So the last thing you need to do is to compare yourself to the descriptions on the handout, because we are all on a different journey in prayer.

So let’s talk about that journey.

Prayer, in its most basic definition, is having a conversation with God.

It is good to let God know what is on our hearts. He wants us to come to Him and express the things that are weighing us down, concerning us, frightening us, elating us. He wants us to pray for our friends and family, especially for them to come to a saving knowledge of His Son, Jesus. He wants to know how we feel. He waits for us to turn our attention to Him and call out His name.

“Jesus, I am so stressed at work right now. I don’t know what to do about my boss. He just won’t cut me any slack! Please help me get through this week. Amen.” …And we go about our day.

But do we give Him enough room to speak back? Do we let Him speak into the situation or concern that we have laid before Him?

What if we gave Him a few minutes to speak to us about the situation? Would he lead us to pray for that boss, who might be secretly going through a horrible situation? Would He spend a few moments breathing peace over us so that we can see the situation with new eyes?

As we learn to listen for God’s part of the conversation, our prayer time deepens because our intimacy with Him is deepening.

This is where the intercession that Mary Lynn shared with us fits in. Once we have learned to hear and recognized God’s still, small voice, we can ask Him what He would like for us to pray about. So our prayer time might add this element:

“Jesus, what’s on your heart today? Is there something or something that You would like for me to pray about? And how would You have me pray?”

Or maybe you’re in a place where you need the strength of the Scriptures to stand on. I went through a time while I was in my spiritual desert where the only thing I could pray was Psalm 27. So I prayed it over and over and over… until God let me move on.

Wherever God has you in prayer, be fully there. Press into Him. But be on the lookout for where He wants to take you next, because He always has us on a journey in prayer, because He always longs for deeper intimacy.

And if you would like to grow in prayer, or would like a guaranteed two hours a week to pray, I encourage you to come to The Well on Wednesday nights from 6:30-8:30.

I can’t wait to hear from all of you next Thursday night what the Lord is teaching you about prayer in this place in your life right now. Please come ready to share what you’ve learned, what He’s speaking to you, or where you think He might be taking you. And of course, if you have any questions, please come with those too!

Love you beautiful ladies!

Nicole

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

