Musings from a promise-collector

Though None Go With Me…


The church I grew up in has a tradition of honoring high school graduates each year. When I finally found myself in that place, the pastor we had at the time said something very sweet to me. Though there were quite a few of us graduating at that time, I was the only one there who had been involved in the youth group and other activities during my high school years. He said that as he was praying for me, the song “I Have Decided to Follow Jesus” came to his mind, and more specifically the lines from the second verse that say “Though none go with me, still I will follow.” It was his prayer for me that I would continue to follow after Jesus whether or not anyone else around me was following Him. Whenever I hear that song, it reminds me of that pastor’s prayer for me and encourages me to keep chasing hard after Jesus.

And while I have always appreciated that song, it wasn’t until recently that I learned the history of it. You have to hear the story for yourself:

Hearing that story just about wrecked me. It brought all new meaning to those well-known lyrics for me.

In my church here in Knoxville, we are singing a new song by Hillsong Live. When I heard the bridge for the first time, I was so excited to hear the lyrics to I Have Decided. I love that the words to that song have found their way into new worship, so that another whole generation will be able to stand up and declare that they, too, have decided to follow Jesus, even if none go with them. And maybe He will use one of them to change their family, or even community, for Jesus.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

