Musings from a promise-collector

Verse for 2013


The following is an email that I sent out to our women’s small group from church.

Hey ladies!

I hope your weekends are off to a good start! Our month-long run of plays started yesterday, so we have been busy, busy, busy! But in the spare moments I have been able to grab, I have been seeking the Lord about my verse and theme for the year. Part of the fun of having a verse or theme for the year is sharing it with others so they can help you watch for it when it pops up in unexpected places. We get to rejoice together in what the Lord is doing in each others’ lives! So, I want to share with you all what I have been hearing.

On my drive home from IL to TN after Christmas (which my car made it, by the way…. thanks everyone for praying!), I was listening to a teaching by Beth Moore.  It was entitled “Delight in Him” and she was teaching from Psalm 37:4 which says:

“Delight yourself in the Lord
and he will give you the desires of your heart.”

She really focused on how when we delight in the Lord, He conforms our desires to line up with His. For this year, I have really been feeling like I want to discover a new ‘level’ of delight in the Lord. I want to go deeper with Him as He continues to conform me more and more into His image. She said, “Ideally, He enjoys being sought for the pleasure of His presence.” I want to seek His presence even more than I have before.

Then there is of course the second part of verse 4… that He will give you the desires of your heart. I think this is where I have been hesitant to pick this verse for the year… I have a fear that people will assume I just want to get things from the Lord. My heart is not to use this verse to try to coerce the Lord into giving me the things I want… as if that could even happen. But yet I want to stand confidently in the promises that He has given me that I am waiting on Him for… and trusting that He will deliver those things in His perfect timing… whether this year or another.

I think the thing that encouraged me in this area was something my friend Andrea shared with me a couple weeks ago. She told me that she’s been reading through David’s story in the Bible. David was anointed as king by Samuel as a boy. But he did not become king until he was 30 years old. He had about 20 years to wait for God’s promises to come to fruition. Then there is a pivotal verse in 2 Samuel 5:12 which says, “And David realized that the Lord had established him as king over Israel, and that He had exalted his kingdom for the sake of His people Israel.” David waited and waited… he had doubts and fears… at times there was no way it looked like God’s promise to him would be fulfilled. But yet he waited on the Lord and delighted in the Lord in the good and bad times.  And then he saw the Lord do what He promised He would do.

As Andrea was running one morning and meditating on that verse, she felt the Lord say to her heart “That is for Nicole this year. I am going to fulfill my promises to her.” Wow.

I have been “collecting” God’s promises to me for many years now. Obviously He probably won’t fulfill all of His promises to me in one year… I think my head would explode! But even just a few of them fulfilled will make for a pretty great year ahead. In fact, He has begun to fulfill one of His promises to me, starting at Quiet Waters. I’ve been documenting it here under My Story of Healing.

How have you all been doing with praying for a verse or theme for the year? Does anyone want to share what they have heard from Jesus about the coming year? I encourage you to do so, because then we can celebrate with you whenever your verse shows up or when we see the Lord move in that area of your life. We want to share in each others’ joys and victories!

Love you girls,

Nicole

Comments on: "Verse for 2013" (2)

  1. Amen! Love it! Can’t wait to see what this year holds for you!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

