Musings from a promise-collector


(The following is an email devotional I sent out to the ladies in our small group.)

Hey ladies! Happy New Year!

I want to encourage you in a practice that a few of us have been doing for a few years. Instead of making resolutions (because truthfully, many of us find those impossible to keep), some of us ask the Lord for a verse or word/phrase for the New Year.  Think of it as a declaration.

For 2010, I asked the Lord for a verse, and he gave me Ephesians 3:17b-19. “And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, 18 may have power, together with all the saints, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, 19 and to know this love that surpasses knowledge—that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.”

As you know, that was the year that I was introduced to STEPS and my girls in India. I learned much about love as the Lord awoke a mother’s heart in me for those girls. 

And who can forget Wendy’s verse last year? “Exceedingly and abundantly more,” from Ephesians 3:20.

Last year, the Lord told me my word was “new” and led me to Isaiah 43:19 for my verse. And last year was the start of some new things for me. “See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the desert and streams in the wasteland.”

The Lord will teach you and grow you in whatever verse he leads you to. So I want to encourage you to spend some time over the next few days praying and seeking the Lord about a year verse.

When He gives you a verse, share it with the rest of us. I also want to encourage you to write it down on a note card and place it somewhere you will see it every day. Then we will watch with the Lord does in our lives in 2013!

Abundant blessings on your new years!

Nicole

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

