Musings from a promise-collector


The Lord has me in the midst of a healing process. Read the first part of the story here.

If you have ever lived with chronic pain you have probably learned how to cope to some extent and can usually function at a reasonable level most days. But you also know that there are times that there is nothing you can do but to curl up in bed and hope the next day is better.

The NUCCA has worked so well for the past 4 years, but I have noticed that in the past 6 months hasn’t been ‘holding’. Instead of being able to go months with only minor pains, it seems to only be lasting weeks before I feel the need to go back for an adjustment. However, Dr. Heath is in my hometown in Illinois, and I now live in Tennessee with no NUCCA chiropractor nearby. And my knees only seem to be getting worse as time goes by. I hate that I cannot kneel in prayer for any length of time without it effecting me for the next 24 hours.

And the past year I have just grown weary of coping and ‘getting by,’ especially when he had promised me the healing I so desire. I brought my weariness to Jesus’ feet, asking if the time for healing could come quickly.

After all, it has been six years since He made that promise to me. And in my prayer time, I started to  feel the need to press into Him a little more about the fulfillment of this promise. I’ve praying into it more often than before, and I have been seeking people out to pray for my healing, not just waiting for prayers for healing to be offered. I knew that I needed to be bold in my pursuit Him.

Our women’s small group at church follows the model in Titus 2, and we bring in women older than us to share the lessons they have learned, what the Lord has taught them, and words of wisdom they would pass along to us in our 20s and 30s. In October this year, Eileen came to share with us. She has been on a journey with the Lord that has so spoken to my heart and need. She suffers from severe migraines, and can find no relief… she has literally tried everything she can think of. But she said that the pain has made her realize her deep need for Jesus to help her get through each and every day. Her pain has drawn her into His presence and she has a sweet and deep relationship with the Lord now.

I can honestly say that the Lord has drawn me deeper into His presence through my pain, as well. He has taught me reliance on Him… sometimes driving that 12 hours between IL and TN is painful, and I have to cry out to Him to help me manage the rest of the drive. He is also revealing Himself more and more as a God who is faithful to His promises. If I can trust Him in this, I can trust Him in anything.

On November 6, I was at my weekly morning small group where we work through Beth Moore‘s Bible studies. This fall we went through A Woman’s Heart – God’s Dwelling Place, about the tabernacle  It was amazingly rich and encouraging. But that morning, as we were watching her video, Moore was teaching about the Bowl of Incense, and how it was there to be as a continual offering of prayers to the Lord. She talked about how Jesus now sits at the right hand of God, and intercedes for us (Hebrews 7:23-25)! I was feeling more encouraged the more she talked. Then she went to a passage in Luke 13:

10On a Sabbath Jesus was teaching in one of the synagogues, 11 and a woman was there who had been crippled by a spirit for eighteen years. She was bent over and could not straighten up at all. 12 When Jesus saw her, he called her forward and said to her, “Woman, you are set free from your infirmity.” 13 Then he put his hands on her, and immediately she straightened up and praised God.

I sat there, listening to her teach about this woman, and started doing the mental math. Yes, it has been right around 18 years ago that all of this started. I have not stood up straight as an adult. I started to tear up… surely, Jesus, my healing has to be coming soon. That poor woman struggled for 18 years… I have struggled for 18 years. Please let it be soon!

I left Bible study that morning, feeling something in me stir. I had been pressing into Him for healing, but it felt like it was time to take it to a whole new level. My expectancy was growing.

The very next night was The Well – our prayer and worship service at church. We were praying for Quiet Waters which was coming up Thursday and Friday that week. QW is our church-wide prayer, worship, and fasting retreat. As we prayed for the things we felt the Lord leading us to pray into, one person got up and said, “I feel like the Lord wants to heal someone at this Quiet Waters.” My heart skipped a beat. Silently I prayed: Lord, I know that there are people here that need healing more than I do, but if you can heal me too….”

Watch for the next post about what God did at QW.

Now posted: what God did at Quiet Waters.

Comments on: "My Story of Healing: The Past 6 Months" (5)

  1. […] with the Lord. You can read about The Need that caused me to get to this place as well as the 6 Months leading up to this […]

  2. […] Read the next part of the story: The Last 6 Months […]

  3. […] am in the midst of a healing work that the Lord is doing in my life. Read about The Need, The Past 6 Months, and Quiet Waters to find out what He has done so […]

  4. […] a continuation of the story of the healing journey the Lord has me on. You can read about The Need, The Past 6 Months, Quiet Waters, 6 Weeks Since QW, and […]

  5. […] continuation of the story of the healing journey the Lord has me on. You can read about The Need, The Past 6 Months, Quiet Waters, 6 Weeks Since QW, Christmas, and Encouraged by Sarah’s […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

