Musings from a promise-collector

My Story of Healing: The Need


As I write this, the story of my healing is unfolding. And I feel the push to write it all down, to document the things the Lord does. So I will start at the beginning, and tell this story in parts, as it progresses.

Eighteen years ago, around the age of 13, I started to show signs that something was wrong in my body. It was a couple of years though before I was officially diagnosed with scoliosis and swayback. This means that my spine not only curves side to side, but it also curves in and out too far.

First it effected only my knees – which made a lot of noise because they had been pulled out of alignment. As the years have progressed, I have noticed pain and discomfort in many of my other joints. Most of the pain I carry now is in my lower back though due to my hips being pulled out of place. My fear of the last couple of years is that if something doesn’t change, I could very well end up with early arthritis in my hips, knees, shoulders, etc. Since my diagnosis, I have sought out every type of help for the pain that I could, short of surgery. I have seen every type of chiropractor  and only one has been able to help me to manage the pain recently – Dr. Heath practices NUCCA, and I have to say, I am a big fan of the relief I get. 

Going back to about 6 years ago, I was at a prayer service where a man was praying for healing for people. And I had the thought, “Why not try? Why not ask God if He can heal me? It’s worth a shot.” After all, He had recently healed me instantly of horrible migraines. So I went up to him and asked him to pray for my healing. I didn’t receive healing that night, and to make it worse he made me feel that it was my fault that I wasn’t healed on the spot… like I didn’t have enough faith, or something to that affect.

My head knew better (that my healing wasn’t based on my faith, but on God’s willingness and plan), but my heart was broken. I walked around in a slump for about 3 days until the Lord broke through my pity-party. As I was getting ready for the day, He stopped me in my tracks. I heard Him speak so clearly to my heart that I almost mistook it for an audible voice. That still, small voice said, “I am going to heal you. But I chose not to heal you just yet because I wanted you to feel what it was like to ask and not immediately receive healing. I need you to learn empathy in this area.” Oh, ok then. Now that I had a purpose, a plan, and a promise, I felt the strength well up inside of me. I could do this. After all, I’d lived like this for a long time already – I knew how to cope.

So that put me on the mission of seeking the Lord and asking. Since then, every time I am somewhere where they offer prayers for healing, I ask. He never said when He would heal me, so I want to keep positioning myself into places to receive it when He is ready to pour it out on me. Because of that perseverance, someone recently compared me to the persistent widow from Luke 18:1-8. This widow kept going to the king asking him for justice, until he was so bothered by her, that he granted her plea. Not that God is bothered by my continual asking, but that my persistence would pay off because is hearing my cries for healing and mercy. And God is good and faithful to His promises.

The Lord is faithful to all his promises
and loving toward all he has made.

Psalm 145:13b

This I know: He is faithful to His promises. I have seen that to be evident in my own life. So I continue to ask and wait expectantly. And I won’t lie, there have been times of doubt, but I remind myself of that morning that He spoke so clearly to my heart, and I put my hope back in Jesus. Our God is able to do exceedingly and abundantly all that we could ask or imagine (Ephesians 3:20).

Look for the next editions of My Story of Healing to learn the amazing things that Jesus is doing in my healing process.

Read the next part of the story: The Past 6 Months

Comments on: "My Story of Healing: The Need" (5)

  1. […] The Lord has me in the midst of a healing process. Read the first part of the story here. […]

  2. […] am on a journey of healing with the Lord. You can read about The Need that caused me to get to this place as well as the 6 Months leading up to this […]

  3. […] am in the midst of a healing work that the Lord is doing in my life. Read about The Need, The Past 6 Months, and Quiet Waters to find out what He has done so […]

  4. […] is a continuation of the story of the healing journey the Lord has me on. You can read about The Need, The Past 6 Months, Quiet Waters, 6 Weeks Since QW, and […]

  5. […] is a continuation of the story of the healing journey the Lord has me on. You can read about The Need, The Past 6 Months, Quiet Waters, 6 Weeks Since QW, Christmas, and Encouraged by Sarah’s […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

