Musings from a promise-collector

I’m All Shook Up


Yesterday I was relaxing on my bed and perusing Facebook. It was a lazy morning… well, it was sorta still morning. It was actually 12:20pm. But hey, I had only been awake for an hour, so it still felt like morning to me.

As I was reading about my friends’ latest news, my world got rocked. Literally.

Surely the door to the garage had been slammed. No… the shaking lasted too long, and was much more intense. The bed and the wall trembled for at least 15 seconds and it sounded like a fleet of semi trucks were rolling by. 

My hands are shaky and my knees are weak
I can’t seem to stand on my own two feet

I’m all shook up!

Mm mm oh, oh, yeah, yeah!

Facebook exploded with comments. I had indeed felt an earthquake. People were posting about books falling off shelves and pictures almost being rattled off of the walls.

It took a good 20 minutes for the news to catch up with Facebook, but eventually I found a report to support what we all knew had just happened. WBIR news online reported that an earthquake had occurred near Whitesburg, KY just three hours northeast of Knoxville. It registered as a 4.3 magnitude. And looking at the map, I can understand why we felt it – it traveled right down the mountains. Not everyone in Knoxville felt it though – I think you had to be sitting still in order to feel it.

Even though there were earthquakes while I was in Illinois, I never felt one because they were either too small or during the middle of the night. And considering that I could sleep through a herd of elephants, I’m probably not going to feel the trembling.

A rather exciting start to my day though!

Comments on: "I’m All Shook Up" (2)

  1. We had one in Kansas last year . . . such a surprising and strange feelings, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

