Musings from a promise-collector

The Holy Exchange


At our small group retreat this past weekend, we had a time of surrendering things to the Lord. We all wrote those things out on paper, then put our papers in the fire to burn, to signify fully giving those things over, because we could never take them back.

The amazing thing is that Jesus makes beauty from ashes. As those things burned, Jesus told me to say this over the girls…. 

When you give me something, I do not leave you empty-handed. When you let go of these things, your hands are free to accept what I have for you. Accept my gift.

All you have to do is take it. It is yours. And nothing can take it away. But be careful not to pick this thing up again because it is not meant for you to carry. If you find it back in your hands, give it back to me, I will carry it for you, and pick back up those good gifts that I have for you.

I give you my peace. I give you my joy. I give you my comfort. My plan for your life. I give you my Truth. I give you my victory! I give you my beauty. I give you my understanding and knowledge. I give you my security, safety, and full acceptance. I give you all this and so much more.

Do you need to surrender something to Jesus and in turn accept something from Him today? Because better than the absence of something surrendered is the presence of God in that space. Make that “holy exchange” with Him… you won’t regret it!

(Photo Source)

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

