Musings from a promise-collector


The following is excerpts from my journal from my most recent trip to see the girls of STEPS Home in India. 

July 31 –

Theresa and I worked on sponsorship cards for Isaac today. I also worked on updating some of the STEPS facebook stuff. Overall it was a productive day at the office.

Eventually we went back to the house so Mike could rest since he wasn’t feeling well. Faith (Tara’s mom) gave me a sari she said I could have. She had never worn it, and thought the colors would look good on me. It is beautiful – a purple and teal blue color with shimmery, sparkly designs on it. (Unfortunately, I realized I never got a picture of me in it.) All I have to do is get a blouse made and buy the petticoat. 

Theresa and I then walked over to the Home to check on Mike – he was feeling better after a little nap. He and Theresa did some more assessments of the girls, while I got to play with the rest of them. We played outside for a while, then I read stories to them. I love getting to spend time with these girls!

Punitha’s favorite – jump rope!

Theresa and I had dinner that night with Faith, since the others were all out. After dinner we headed back to our room to finish up some more things. We went into the bathroom to wash the dirt off our feet. Theresa picked up her towel to dry her feet, and a cockroach came running out from under it. And the roach was between us and the door. Since Theresa was closer (and I was cowering in the corner), I told her to grab my flip flop and hit it. As she aimed for it, it ran under the sink. So she opened the door to go after it, and a BIGGER roach came running out. Somehow in the craziness, she managed to hit both of them, multiple times. We slipped out of the bathroom and closed the door behind us. We figured we’d just leave them there and let the guys dispose of them when they returned.

Ben and Rohan got home around 10:30, and I was motioning them to come into the room immediately. Rohan asked, “Bandicoot?” “No… I wouldn’t be this calm. Cockroaches.” Rohan got rid of the big one of the room and threw it outside. The smaller one, however, was no where to be found… and we made sure that they guys checked every nook and cranny. So it either collected its spilled guts and walked off… or something else drug it away. Neither option was very reassuring.

We sprayed some of our OFF Bug Spray around in a few strategic locations before we climbed into bed that night. I went to bed that night praying Psalm 91:5-6 over us…

You will not fear the terror of the night,
nor the arrow that flies by day,
nor the pestilence that stalks in darkness,
nor the destruction that wastes at noonday.

Jesus, save us from the pestilence!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

