Musings from a promise-collector

Lunch Notes


For the past week on my facebook feed, I have been seeing so many First-Day-of-School pictures. I remember the excitement of wearing my new outfit, with a new backpack full of new school supplies (especially that box of brand new crayons!), and getting ready to go into my new classroom. I was one of those kids that genuinely loved going to school.

One of my favorite things about school was the anticipation of opening my lunchbox. I usually knew what kind of sandwich I would be getting, since my mom always asked me what I wanted. Butter, peanut butter, and homemade pickle slices was one of my favorites. Don’t judge if you haven’t tried it! It was amazing!

(Photo Source

The only thing I dreaded seeing in my lunchbox was celery. As a kid I hated celery! (However, as an adult, I have come to appreciate the vegetable.) I think part of it was that because I was somewhere between having baby teeth that were falling out and growing in new adult teeth, it was hard to bite into without getting all of those strings. Much to my mom’s chagrin, I would lick the peanut butter off, then put the celery sticks back in their bag and take them home. Why I never thought to just throw them out so I wouldn’t get scolded, I don’t know.

Besides the food, the real reason for loving lunchtime so much was that my mom always wrote a note on my napkin. Sometimes it was a long note, sometimes a short one, sometimes it included a picture. I especially loved my birthday messages! But I always loved reading what was on there. It could take a hard day and make it a little lighter and easier, knowing I had backup at home. If you’re a parent, I encourage you to take a minute each evening or morning to write a little note to your child (or children) for their lunches; it is a great way to bless their day!

(Photo Source)

Comments on: "Lunch Notes" (1)

  1. To add a little note to their lunch please take a look at my site http://littlelunchnotes.com/. Every school day I post new free printable lunch notes that are illustrated jokes, fun facts, etc. – please take a look.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

