Musings from a promise-collector


The following is excerpts from my journal from my most recent trip to see the girls of STEPS Home in India. 

July 23 & 24 –

All of the generous donations that I got to pack to take to the girls. That’s a lot of stuff!

Our journey officially started on Monday, July 23, where Theresa and I left from Knoxville at 6pm. But really, the trip was put into motion on Wednesday night at church. That night at The Well, Theresa and I went prepared to share a little about our up-coming trip and be prayed for. So when I walked into the room in my sari and an Indian couple and their American friends walked in right behind me, I was a little surprised. In talking, I found out that the couple (Ashok and Sheila) were from Chennai, in Anna Nagar (the neighborhood where the office is), and know the Manogaroms! Small world! So when they return to India, they have invited us to have a meal with them before we leave to go back home. 

But on Monday, Theresa and I boarded the plane to take us to O’Hare where we met up with Mike from my home church. Our flight to London was very uneventful. So uneventful that not even the tvs were working right… bummer. At least it was through the night and I was able to sleep for a few hours. I’ve never flown through London, so Heathrow was a new experience for me. It is expansive. And we were late getting in, so I wasn’t sure if we would make our connecting flight. But thankfully our departing flight was also late, because we made it to the gate just as we were originally scheduled to take off. Whew! Thankfully we had some time to rest and stretch before boarding.

Our last flight was from London to Chennai – the longest of our three flights. And the flight where we were definitely in the minority… but we made some new friends; airplane friends, that is. Most interestingly, we met Samuel. He was born in India, but now lives near DC and travels to India for missions. He asked us where were going and what we were doing, and for the second time in a week, I heard, “Oh, I know them!” Yep… he knows the Manogaroms, too! His father prayed over Isaac’s father for Isaac to be born. I couldn’t help but laugh at the people that God has placed in my path on this trip.

I spent the rest of the flight trying to relax, pray, and meditated on Isaiah 58:6-12… a passage spoken over us before we left.

Isaiah 58 –

“Is not this the fast that I choose:
to loose the bonds of wickedness,
to undo the straps of the yoke,
to let the oppressed go free,
and to break every yoke?
Is it not to share your bread with the hungry
and bring the homeless poor into your house;
when you see the naked, to cover him,
and not to hide yourself from your own flesh?
Then shall your light break forth like the dawn,
and your healing shall spring up speedily;
your righteousness shall go before you;
the glory of the Lord shall be your rear guard.
Then you shall call, and the Lord will answer;
you shall cry, and he will say, ‘Here I am.’
If you take away the yoke from your midst,
the pointing of the finger, and speaking wickedness,
10 if you pour yourself out for the hungry
and satisfy the desire of the afflicted,
then shall your light rise in the darkness
and your gloom be as the noonday.
11 And the Lord will guide you continually
and satisfy your desire in scorched places
and make your bones strong;
and you shall be like a watered garden,
like a spring of water,
whose waters do not fail.
12 And your ancient ruins shall be rebuilt;
you shall raise up the foundations of many generations;
you shall be called the repairer of the breach,
the restorer of streets to dwell in.

Comments on: "Days 1 & 2, India Summer 2012" (1)

  1. […] was then kind enough to drive Theresa and I to our lunch meeting with Ashok and Sheila – he even wore his new TN hat while he drove; we called it his chauffeur hat. Lunch was very […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

