Musings from a promise-collector

Octo-dog


I love summer foods, especially picnic food! As a kid, I especially loved hot dogs. Now that I’m older and sometimes in the care of other’s children, I’m always looking for something fun that kids will actually enjoy eating. (I like to be the “cool” babysitter!)

So one time I stumbled across this really great idea for hot dogs. With a knife, you slice straight down into the hot dog, about half-way down. You make 4 cuts, which will create the 8 legs. If you want to get fancy, you can carve out little eyes and a mouth on each of them. Then place the hot dogs into boiling water on the stove. Once the legs curl up, they are done!

I serve them with ketchup or melted cheese for dipping. And kids LOVE to bite the legs off!

(A few of the legs of my Octo-dog ended up sticking together after cooking, but there are 8 legs there, I promise!)

Comments on: "Octo-dog" (4)

  1. This is so fun Nicole! You and octopuses….ha!!! Love it.

    p.s. If you want to link it to my blog, I’m sure other moms and babysitters would love to make their lunches a little more fun too.
    http://pencilleddaydream.wordpress.com/2012/04/30/ball-pit-fun-and-a-link-up-party/

    • Thanks! I think they are just so cute! I saw canned octopus yesterday in the store and it made me sad… so I thought I’d share a more octopus-friendly idea! 🙂

  2. I found your blog through the blog hop and wanted to stop by. This is an awesome idea! My daughter would love it! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

