Musings from a promise-collector

Are You Weary?


There has been an epidemic recently… everyone I talked to was tired, weary, and generally just feeling blah. I just emailed my favorite girls (my small group) to hopefully encourage all of us all right out of this tired feeling. I sure don’t like feeling lethargic, apathetic, and generally worn out. I want to be filled with the strength, joy, and peace that comes from Jesus.

So here’s what I wrote:

I noticed over the past week that there has been a lot of tiredness and weariness going around. And in talking to many of you, you have expressed the same thing. I know that I’ve been more tired than usual lately. It reminded me of what Jesus said in Matthew 11:28-30: 28 “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

John’s message yesterday in church really drove this part home. If you recall verses 2 and 3 of Psalm 23, he talked about how a sheep will not rest until all of the conditions around it are perfect. Unfortunately, the conditions around us rarely even resemble perfection. But we can escape the storm by resting in Him. He is our hiding place, our safe refuge, our shelter from the storm. And we can rely on Him for strength because He has an unending supply! I know last week I already touched on a portion of this passage, but it has come back up now relating to rest.

Isaiah 40:28-31 says:

28 Do you not know?
Have you not heard?
The LORD is the everlasting God,
the Creator of the ends of the earth.
He will not grow tired or weary,
and his understanding no one can fathom.
29 He gives strength to the weary
and increases the power of the weak.
30 Even youths grow tired and weary, 
and young men stumble and fall;
31 but those who hope in the LORD
will renew their strength.
They will soar on wings like eagles;
they will run and not grow weary,
they will walk and not be faint.

Isn’t it amazing how the Holy Spirit can point out a passage one week to give us hope, and the very next week lead us back to the same passage to give us strength in our weariness? God’s Word is truly alive and active!

But we can’t just ask God to take the things that are weighing us down and wearing us out. We have to GIVE them to him. Whatever it is that may be burdening you, tell Him you give it to Him and ask for His peace, joy, contentment, confidence, etc to flood your soul. He likes to make exchanges with us. He likes to take our yuckiness and trade it for His good gifts! Isn’t that wonderful? He is such a good God! So I am praying that each of us is able to shake of the things that are entangling us and wearing us down for His strength, peace, joy, and presence!

(Sources: Photo 1, Photo 2, Photo 3)

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

