Musings from a promise-collector

Hope in the Waiting


The idea of waiting on the Lord, and hoping in Him has been a theme that has been rolling around in my head lately. So much so, that I had to finally process some of it aloud (well, in type). I sent an email last night out to my small group, mostly to remind them of some small-group-business, but also as an outlet to get my thoughts a little more cohesive and to hopefully encourage a few of them. Maybe it will encourage you where you’re at too. I wrote:

So how are you all doing? Is anyone else feeling tired from the sheer business of this time of year? Or is it just me? In the midst of all that is swirling around me, I have found myself bouncing around between some Bible verses, and I want to share them with you. Isaiah 40: 29-31 says:

29He gives power to the faint,
and to him who has no might he increases strength.
30 Even youths shall faint and be weary,
and young men shall fall exhausted;
31 but they who wait for (hope on) the Lord shall renew their strength;
they shall mount up with wings like eagles;
they shall run and not be weary;
they shall walk and not faint.

Hope. I’ve been seeing that word a lot lately. Then I find myself saying, “But Lord, your Word also says that ‘Hope deferred makes the heart sick, but a desire fulfilled is a tree of life.’ (Proverbs 13:12) And I have some hopes that I am waiting on, Lord! Hopes that I have been waiting on for a long time, decades even. And sometimes they are just so wearisome to bear. Things you’ve promised to me that I’m waiting for you to fulfill and release. But I know you are good, and you will fulfill those things, so I will continue to hope in You!”

So I have found myself going back to the very familiar, very dear Psalm 27:13-14:

13 I believe that I shall look upon the goodness of the Lord
in the land of the living!
14 Wait for the Lord;
be strong, and let your heart take courage;
wait for the Lord!

Wait. He’s taught me a lot about waiting over the past decade. It’s not an idle waiting… it’s a waiting with hope, with expectancy. Whatever it is you are waiting for, let your heart take courage! God is good and He will not have you waiting just for the sake of waiting. There is always a purpose in the wait. But don’t give up asking either. Be like the persistent widow in the Gospels that kept going to the king until she got the justice that she deserved. Keep asking, trusting that He will answer you in His timing.

I pray that you will find strength in the waiting, in the hoping.

Comments on: "Hope in the Waiting" (2)

  1. He Makes All Things New said:

    This is such a good post, Nicole! Just what the Lord has been teaching me as well. My hope is in Him…alone!! Not in what I am hoping He gives me but in Him! I love Him and know whatever He has for my future is good! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

