Musings from a promise-collector

8 Days Without Dew


I have officially made it eight days on a new reduced Dew plan. I have felt like for some time now, I should reduce the amount of Mountain Dew that I consume. Not that I’m consuming obscene amounts, but one can or small bottle every afternoon isn’t totally necessary. I have gone without it before, but I do enjoy the taste of it, and usually end up back into the daily habit. I think part of the problem was that I’ve had an all-or-nothing/cold-turkey approach to it previously. This usually sets me up for failure.

So when I woke up last Monday morning, I had an epiphany… what if I just drink it as a once-in-a-while sort of thing and cut it out as a daily thing – drink it only as a treat? And I made it the whole day without it. That was eight days ago. Now, I do have to tell you that I did have a small glass of Dew on Saturday, but it was because we were conducting a training all day, and I was a little tired. So don’t judge me! Just kidding…. But that’s really all I’ve had in eight days. Not bad, huh?

I’m honestly kind of surprised at myself, truth be told. I usually crave it when I go without it. But I’ve been surprisingly ok with not drinking it. I haven’t gone through caffeine withdrawals either (which I wasn’t really expecting to). I think I might be finally on my way to less consumption.

And hopefully a side benefit of cutting out the extra calories and sugar will be a little extra weight loss!

(Photo Source)

Comments on: "8 Days Without Dew" (1)

  1. […] 15, 2012 You may remember that almost three months ago, I decided to give up my daily afternoon Mountain Dew. I do allow myself to have the occasional Dew yet, but mostly I’ve found that when given the […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

