Musings from a promise-collector

Pineapple Delight


I celebrated St. Patrick’s Day with some of my friends from Fellowship Church. We had an “It’s Not Easy Being Green” party, where everything was green-themed, including the food. So for my food items, I brought a fruit salad made entirely of green fruits (grapes, kiwis, Granny Smith apples, and pears) and Pineapple Delight (also known as Men’s Delight).

Pineapple Delight is what you would call a “salad” in the Midwest, meaning that it is usually Jell-O based and has some type of fruit in it. This is one of my favorite salads – I remember my great-grandmother making it for holidays. And it is very easy to make.

Pineapple Delight

  • 1 – 3oz package of lime Jell-O
  • 1/2 cup hot water
  • 15 large marshmallows (or the small marshmallow equivalent)
  • 1 – 8oz can of crushed pineapple (with juice)
  • 1 – 8oz package cream cheese
  • 4oz of Cool Whip

Mix and dissolve in the Jell-O in hot water. Melt the marshmallows and cream cheese into the mixture. Beat with a mixer to dissolve any lumps. Stir in can of pineapple with juice. Finally stir in the Cool Whip. Pour into an 8×8 pan and let set in the refrigerator for a few hours. Serve chilled. You may choose to cut it into squares or just serve with a spoon.

A few helpful tips:

  1. When I made this salad for my party, I couldn’t get the hand mixer to work… so I used a blender. It was the smoothest that it has ever come out. I think I will use this method from now on!
  2. Smaller marshmallows will dissolve quicker and better than the large. Marshmallow bags have the mini to large ratio on them. I looked online for the ratio, and most websites say that between 12-15 minis equal 1 large mallow. But make sure to do your homework if you decide to use a different sized mallow.
  3. Light Cool Whip works just as well as regular, and helps to cut down on a few calories.
  4. If you are going to make this recipe for St. Patrick’s Day, make sure to get your lime Jell-O early! When I went to the store (the day of *ahem*) they only had four packages left!

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

