Musings from a promise-collector


If ever I had a moment to share that sentiment with Woody from Toy Story, it was recently. As our ministry is traveling around with the production Questioning Aslan and our two British actors, I have been having fun running the sounds for the play. It has all gone very smoothly, except for one instance.

Two minutes into the play, the computer that I was running the sounds from decided that it HAD to shut down that very instant. There was no getting around it. The black box of death and appeared and it would not be ignored. I wanted so badly to scream, “This is a perfect time to panic!”

I had only 5 pages until the next sound cue. As I was waiting for the computer to start rebooting, the guy next to me leans over and whispers, “This computer doesn’t have a password, does it?” Commence hyperventilating. I had no idea. It was Michael’s (one of our actors) computer. Thankfully, it did not.

A herd of turtles walking uphill through molasses on a cold January day moved faster than this computer loaded.

I would have begun pacing back and forth if the space had allowed room for it.

By the time I got iTunes up and responding, I had less than 10 seconds to spare before I had to play the next cue. Whew! Crisis averted. No one in the audience even noticed that we were having a major technical melt-down in the back of the room. Though my adrenaline was definitely pumping for the rest of the performance.

I am so glad that I kept my composure and didn’t run around screaming ” Everyone panic! Now is a perfect time to panic!” That might have been slightly embarrassing.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

