Musings from a promise-collector

Celebrating the 31st Year


Yesterday I hit the big 3-1. It wasn’t near as hard as changing decades last year. Since my weekend was busy with ministry stuff (selling tickets, the play performances, etc) and the Super Bowl, it didn’t leave much time for me to celebrate. But I had Saturday night free, so I went out with three of my good friends: Theresa, Wendy, and Shaun.

I decided that the thing I wanted to do most was have Indian food. So I got dressed up in one of my Indian outfits (a chula, to be exact) and we went to Taj. The food was excellent and the darling Indian couple that runs the restaurant were so sweet and excited to learn that I’d been to India.

After our delicious meal, we headed over to Starbucks to cap off the night. A peppermint mocha with friends is a great way to end a rainy night.

The actual day of my birthday was Sunday, the 5th. I spent the morning at church manning (or womanning, if you will) the ticket table for the play. Then when church got out it was frantic scrambling to get everything in place for the 2pm showing of Questioning Aslan. The show went great and the audience loved it. While we were packing up after the play, our British friends sang Happy Birthday to me. I’ve never been sang to before in British accents, so that was rather fun!

When we got home, we spent some time celebrating Elias Baker’s second birthday, as well as mine. His birthday is actually February 6… so he and I are almost-birthday-buddies.

The rest of the evening was spent eating way too much food and watching the Super Bowl. Well, ok, the guys watched the Super Bowl anyway…

(And it was our British friends’ first Super Bowl!)

… and the women? Well, we found other ways to entertain ourselves. Such as painting our nails.

Not a bad way to spend a birthday weekend, if I do say so myself!

Comments on: "Celebrating the 31st Year" (3)

  1. A very nice variety of birthday fun!!

  2. Happy Birthday Nicole!!! I am glad I got to spend time with you 🙂 Painting our nails and talking was so much fun.

    p.s. I tried to talk Elias into being your birthday buddy but he wanted to wait one more day…lol…. I tried 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

