Musings from a promise-collector


The following are some random things that I encountered on my recent trip to India. They didn’t really fit into any one particular day’s blog, so I’ve compiled some them here.

At the end of the day, sometimes the guys and I would stay up to watch a little Indian tv before bedtime. One night we found the game show Wipe Out on tv. I definitely wasn’t expecting that; but it was nice to have a little piece of home so far away. Then there was a particular ad that played at almost every commercial break. I have it here for your viewing pleasure:

Kinda catchy, isn’t it?

*                 *                 *                 *                 *

I’ve flown a fair amount, and since I’m tall this can pose some very uncomfortable problems. But since all the exit rows were already taken when we booked our flight, we were all very fortunate to at least get aisle seats. However, the little bit of leg room that I gained from this seat was stolen from me on every single flight. Without fail, I ended up behind the man who would recline the moment we were in the air, and not sit up until we were descending and he was required to “Please put your seatback and tray in their upright and locked positions”. Especially at the end of the flight, when I was tired and boarder-line cranky, it took every fiber of my being to not start kicking the seat in front of me like a 2-year-old. But thankfully, I kept my composure and didn’t resort to toddler-esque antics or fall apart into a sobbing pile in the aisle.

(Photo Source)

I was very thankful for one flight attendant on my flight from Chicago to Frankfurt, Germany. The man sitting in front of me was in the bulk-head row… so he had plenty of room in front of him, and decided that wasn’t enough and needed to recline. As the meal was being passed out, the flight attendant in our area noticed my lack of room. He kindly asked the man in front of me to put his seat up for the meal. I mouthed a huge “Thank You!” to him as he handed me my meal. It was so lovely to have my two inches of leg room back! But as soon as the meal was finished and the trash was picked up, the lovely man in front of me reclined again. Commence sobbing.

*                 *                 *                 *                 *

In the neighborhood where Isaac and Tara live, there is a plethora of fauna. In particular, there was a local herd of water buffalo that wandered through the streets. There were about 6 or 7 of them all together. When we saw them, we would move over and let them pass. I’m not sure how temperamental water buffalo are, but I didn’t really want to chance ticking one off – the had rather intimidating looking horns.

One day we met the water buffalo as they were coming out of one of the flooded empty lots. We stood aside and let them all pass, then continued down the road. As we got to the corner, one last water buffalo came strolling and grunting down the road. But he had not been in the water with the rest. Instead he was covered with thick, wet mud. We moved aside to let him pass, as I pleaded with him “Please don’t shake, please don’t shake, please don’t shake!” Thankfully, he slowly trudged on past us, perfectly content to be covered from horn to hoof in that red-brown mud.

 Inevitably, because of these encounters I would end up singing the Water Buffalo Song in my head every day. Thank you, Larry the Cucumber, for being so silly.

Comments on: "India Randomness – IndiGo, Leg Room, Water Buffalo" (1)

  1. Veggie Tale songs are so good for the soul !! Who knew as we were singing that song so many years ago it would give you a real-life way to relate!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

