Musings from a promise-collector

A Verse for 2012


For New Year’s last year, I wrote about choosing a verse of the year in place of making a resolution (read about it here). After much prayer, the verse that the Lord led me to last year was Ephesians 3:17b-19.

And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, 18 may have power, together with all the saints, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, 19 and to know this love that surpasses knowledge—that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.

I wrote this verse out on a note card and kept it on my bathroom mirror all year, so that I could easily read it each morning. I asked the Lord to really show me what grasping the “wide and long and high and deep” of His love looked like. I want to know that love.

Reflecting on the year, I can see where the Lord showed me those things. Probably the biggest area was in those beautiful little brown eyes half-way around the world. The Lord gave me such a love for those 16 precious little girls in India, before I even met them. And I can say that now after meeting them, I do love those little girls! The Lord has put a passion in me for them and rescuing more girls like them.

I have been praying about which verse that Lord would have for 2012. And as I pray, the word “new” keeps coming to mind. And the verse I keep coming back to is Isaiah 43:19.

See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the desert and streams in the wasteland.

So I think that this is my new verse for 2012. I can’t wait to see what the Lord shows me about newness!

http://seg.sharethis.com/getSegment.php?purl=http%3A%2F%2Ftherainbowcollector.wordpress.com%2Fwp-admin%2Fpost.php%3Fpost%3D1485%26action%3Dedit&jsref=&rnd=1325375718007

Comments on: "A Verse for 2012" (1)

  1. Amen!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

