Musings from a promise-collector

Lamentations and a Hymn


The Lord has been speaking the word “hope” over me in regards to my upcoming trip to India. I believe that He wants to send hope with me there to the little girls, and build my own hope. So in preparation, I’ve been doing some studying on hope in the Word. I ended up in a very interesting place in the Bible – a place you wouldn’t expect to find hope. Lamentations. But this is what I read in Lamentations 3:

21 Yet this I call to mind
and therefore I have hope:

22 Because of the LORD’s great love we are not consumed,
for his compassions never fail.
23 They are new every morning;
great is your faithfulness.
24 I say to myself, “The LORD is my portion;
therefore I will wait for him.”

25 The LORD is good to those whose hope is in him,
to the one who seeks him;
26 it is good to wait quietly
for the salvation of the LORD.

31 For men are not cast off

by the Lord forever.
32 Though he brings grief, he will show compassion,
so great is his unfailing love.
33 For he does not willingly bring affliction
or grief to the children of men.

Reading through that passage, the part that really stuck in my head was in verses 22-23. That got the song “Great Is Thy Faithfulness” rolling around in my head, and it’s been there ever since.

So tonight, I went and found all of the lyrics (to make sure I still remembered them correctly), and wrote them on the first page of my journal that I will be using in India. I have also been listening to the song over and over again on YouTube, a version by Chris Rice. Here is the version that’s had my attention all night (which includes the lyrics right in it). Enjoy!

(For a really neat version of “Great Is Thy Faithfulness”, search for Chris Rice’s Living Room Sessions version of the song on YouTube.)

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

