Musings from a promise-collector

22 Days and Counting…


In just 22 days I will on my way to India! I can’t even begin to express in type just how excited I am about this! It’s almost surreal in some ways since I have been dreaming and hoping and planning since about June.

The final pieces of all the preparations are falling into place: I have gotten my shots, I will be getting my malaria pills soon, my Visa is almost done being processed, and I have begun to collect the things I will be packing to take over there. By the way, if you are interested in helping me purchase anything from the wishlist, you can find it here.

Some beautiful ladies from my church here in Knoxville are hosting a bit of a “baby shower” for me before my trip as well, to help me gather more of the items from the wishlist and to bring awareness of what I am doing with STEPS. I am so excited to share with everyone what God is doing and how He is rescuing precious little girls from the streets of India.

In talking with people who have traveled to India, I have been asked a common question: “Have you watched Slumdog Millionaire, yet?” Multiple people have told me that if I haven’t seen this movie, I need to, because it is a good depiction of what I will see there. I did in fact see the movie a few years ago. If you haven’t seen it, I highly recommend it. It is a very well-made movie. (Photo Source)

And I can’t even count the number of times I have dreamt about those precious little girls that I soon get to hold. I cannot wait to let Jesus love them through me! I want them to know how much God loves them, that they are precious and valuable in His sight!

I guess ultimately, I am preparing to have my heart broken. To say it hasn’t already been broken would be a lie. But to finally meet the little girls that go with the faces in the pictures I have been staring at. To behold the little brown eyes of girls who have been abandoned, abused, and neglected… but to know that God has plans for their little lives! I know my heart will experience a breaking like it hasn’t experienced before. But that’s ok. Because it’s through a broken heart that God will work through me and fuel me to work even harder for these girls. And God won’t break a heart and leave it in pieces – He will mend it back together stronger than it was to begin with. All because He is a good and loving God who loves me and loves each of those little faces.

And how can you not fall in love with these faces??

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

