Musings from a promise-collector

Introduction to Tamil


I figured since I am going to be traveling to India now starting in December, I should probably learn some words and phrases in Tamil. Tamil is the language spoken by the people who live in southern India (as is my understanding so far), unlike other parts of the population that speak Hindi. After searching online for some cds to help me learn to speak Tamil, I unfortunately came up dry; most foreign language programs teach Hindi, but not Tamil. I was hoping to be able to listen to the cds, especially while driving back and forth when I travel to IL.

I did stumble across a series of youtube videos that may prove to be helpful though for now. A lady with a lovely voice has created a series of twelve lessons, including an introductory video that explains some of the background information. I have watched a few of them, and I think with some practice and repetition, I will pick up many useful phrases. The helpful thing about these videos is that the words are written in English pronunciation, not in the Tamil alphabet. Someday I would like to learn to read and write it, but first things first – I need to at least be able to introduce myself and greet people!

If you are interested in learning about the language, here is the introductory session:

I love how clearly she speaks! She is so easy to understand.

And here is the first lesson, if you would like to learn to say hello!

I even have a little notebook that I am taking notes in, so I can bring it with me when I travel. I feel so studious!

Comments on: "Introduction to Tamil" (4)

  1. Did I read that right! You’re coming up north for a visit….YEAH!

  2. You are studious by nature….When you were 3 and I asked if you could write the word “STOP”, you went to the front window to look out at the intersection, got the 4 letters from the stop sign and came back to write them down! I still am amazed at this new adventure, still speechless, GOD leaves me speechless!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

