Musings from a promise-collector


How do I even begin to talk about a day that brings such mixed emotions?

Sadness at the years of what could have been and can never be recaptured.

Joy that he is free from pain and sickness.

Thankful that God led us to reconciliation.

Sadness that our new-found relationship ended too soon.

Wistfully watching dads and daughters interacting.

So joyful that he is with Jesus now.

And so incredibly thankful that I have a Heavenly Abba who loves me.

I suppose I am looking toward the year that it finally gets a little easier. And in some ways, each year has been easier, but in other ways not. But when you lose someone you love way too early, I guess that is what happens. You have to figure out how to face the days that force you to acknowledge your loss. With that being said,

Abba, thank you for my dad. Thank you for the great work you did in both of our hearts so that you could bring reconciliation to us. Thank you that he is no longer in pain or sick, but that he is completely healed and whole… enjoying being in your presence. Tell him that I miss him, and that I look forward to seeing him again… and that I expect him to be ready to give me that hug he still owes me.

Revelation 21: 3 And I heard a loud voice from the throne saying, “Now the dwelling of God is with men, and he will live with them. They will be his people, and God himself will be with them and be their God. 4 He will wipe every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away.”

Comments on: "Feelings on Father’s Day" (4)

  1. Hi Nicole, when i read this i got goose bumps right up my legs, this is how the holy spirits presence usually happens with me, So i take this as a confirmation that you will get the hug owed and that yes your dad is waiting for you. Nic know that you are very much loved and God is there with you for every step of the way, i do not know what it is like to grieve for a father but have known the loss of loved ones and remembering them though very sad at times is also very respectful and I always take the opportunity to share or reflect about them. The lord knows all our needs and watches out for us always and I pray you have a peace knowing your dad is home with the lord.
    Love TIna
    ((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((nic))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))

  2. Our God gives us hope, when our tears give way in our weakness. Our faith brings the strength, that the evil one wants to deplete. We are the thorns of sin on our Saviors battered head and He upholds us, wanting us to know, these trials are a part of His work. Our earthly hurts, oh how we want to FIX them! I can send you my love across the miles, but we will see the glorious day of reconciliation and total, true joy, on the day we see Jesus! A very special Fathers day that will be Nicole!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

