Musings from a promise-collector

Birds of Tennessee


This winter and spring I have noticed many differences and similarities in the birds between Illinois and Tennessee. The two states have many birds in common, including the Cardnial, Bluejay, Robin, Mourning Dove, Goldfinches, and many other small Finches.

Goldfinch (Photo Source)

One phrase I heard a lot growing up in Illinois was about watching for “the first Robin of spring.” The robins would fly south for the winter, and we knew spring was arriving when they started to reappear. I now know where they migrate to  – Tennessee! I saw many Robins here all winter long.

Here in Knoxville I have discovered some birds that do not live in Illinois. Here are a few of my new favorites:

The Bluebird (Photo Source)

These little birds are abundant here. There is one that hangs out on the back porch of the house here, staring at one of the windows. I’ve tried to spy on him, but if I get to close to the window, he takes off.

The Mockingbird (Photo Source)

 

Mockingbirds are interesting little birds. I see them everywhere, but they are hard to distinguish by call alone – they can mimic many different sounds. There is one outside of my bedroom window that makes a very hoarse squwaking noise first thing in the morning. To kill a mockingbird…? Nah, I couldn’t do it. The annoying little bird will get to live.

I have also seen a few little birds flitting around that were the inspiration to one of my favorite cartoons growing up.

Red-bellied Woodpecker (Photo Source)

I am excited to continue to discover more of Tennessee’s flora and fauna.

Comments on: "Birds of Tennessee" (1)

  1. 🙂 Just ask Karen F. about the birds in the pine tree by her bedroom window…she has entertained the idea of taking the tree out…and says “but then where would they nest”? Tender hearts!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

