Musings from a promise-collector

Rocky Top


Having lived in Knoxville now for the better part of a year, I have come to learn that there is a song that every Tennessee resident must know how to sing. I have heard it everywhere, particularly at concerts and other large events (including outdoor church services), and includes boisterous singing by all. It is especially known for being the unofficial fight song of the University of Tennessee.

Of course, wanting to be a good Tennessee resident, I looked up the song on YouTube and have been listening to it and reading the lyrics to make sure that I can sing along next time I find myself in the midst of a “Rocky Top” sing-a-long.

After listening to many different renditions of the song, I would like to share this one with you. It has great pictures from Tennessee’s history in the background. The original song was a bluegrass version – this video has more of a rock beat mixed in and ends with the Vols marching band playing the song at Neyland Stadium.

Rocky Top, you’ll always be
Home sweet home to me.
Good ole Rocky Top,
Rocky Top Tennessee, Rocky Top Tennessee.

Comments on: "Rocky Top" (1)

  1. My feet are tappin’…haven’t heard that song for awhile 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

