Musings from a promise-collector

Music in the Rain


I woke up this morning actually somewhat motivated to go for a walk before I headed to the office. Rolling over, I heard the steady fall of the rain and knew that if I went through with my plan, I would be getting two showers back-to-back. I decided to catch up on a little sleep instead, not really caring to start my day feeling like a drowned rat.

I did eventually have to go out in the rain to make a quick trip to the post office. After  unsuccessfully navigating over a puddle, and found myself wishing I had some cute galoshes for a day when building an ark sounds like a good idea and discovered that my raincoat and umbrella did little to keep the rest of me dry.

Quickly I turned on my car and aimed the heated air at my feet to hopefully dry out my shoes quickly. I flicked on the windshield wipers and turned up the music on K-Love. They were playing Mercy Me’s “You Reign”.

(If you want to watch the video, click Watch on YouTube.)

As I backed out of the driveway, I realized that the wipers were in perfect sync with the beat of the song. The raindrops hitting my sunroof provided the perfect background sounds for the song. I couldn’t help but sing along with the song and praise my Jesus for the music of the rain this morning!

“He covers the sky with clouds; he supplies the earth with rain and makes grass grow on the hills.”  -Psalm 147:8

…So I guess I better start saving my change to buy a pair of galoshes for the next rainy day. Anyone want to give to the BNGF (Buy Nicole Galoshes Fund)? Because evenwhen you’re praising Jesus with the music of the rain it is nice to have dry feet!

Comments on: "Music in the Rain" (1)

  1. I love rain boots! This morning I actually remembered to wear mine. We definitely need to find you a cute pair. The poor little shoes you had on today will just not do in this rain : ) Let’s go shopping soon!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

