Musings from a promise-collector


I’m in my first Beth Moore Bible study, and I’m loving it. But this isn’t about what a great teacher Beth Moore is… except that in one of her homework lessons from “Living Beyond Yourself” I noticed something that has had me thinking ever since. She brought our attention to the passage in Zechariah 14 which tells of the last days when Jesus will return. Verse 4 says, “On that day his feet will stand on the Mount of Olives, east of Jerusalem, and the Mount of Olives will be split in two from east to west, forming a great valley, with half of the mountain moving north and half moving south.”

I’ve never really noticed that verse before, that I can recall. What made it jump out to me recently was because of my visit to Israel in September. Something that fascinated me was the fissure in the bedrock that runs from the Church of the Holy Sceptre to the Temple Mount. Ok, stick with me a minute while I explain. The place that is mostly closely held traditionally as where Jesus was crucified and buried is where the Holy Sceptre stands. When Jesus was on the cross and gave up his life, Matthew 27:51 tells us that “at that moment the curtain of the temple was torn in two from top to bottom. The earth shook, the rocks split”. In other words, there was an earthquake. Archeologists have found that there is a large fissure in the bedrock of the city that runs from the Holy Sceptre directly to the Temple Mount, where the Temple stood. This fissure runs from west to east.

Now back to the Zechariah passage: it says that the Mount will split from east to west. What struck me is that both of these fissures are on opposite sides of the Temple Mount, both running towards it. To help you get a visual of this, I created this diagram:

You can see the dotted line on the left is approximately where the fissure caused by Jesus’ death runs. The dotted line on the right is approximately where Jesus will return and the Mount will split. In the center, you see where the Temple was, and will be again some day (it is the small rectangle that is below the label “The Temple”).

I’m still pondering this new discovery; I do not know the significance of it yet. I just found it so interesting that I had to share it! Leave me a comment below if you have any ideas or thoughts – I’d love to hear what you think!

Comments on: "Past and Future Earthquakes in Israel" (2)

  1. My thought: Standing in that land, near that place, at THAT time…how glorious! ( I’m singing now)…”What a glorious day that would be!” 🙂

  2. the river is coming

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

