Musings from a promise-collector


The commercial world calls it Valentine’s Day. Those of us without someone to spend it with call it Single’s Awareness Day. Just the mention of this day used to bring out a long-time bitterness. In grade school we all exchanged Valentine’s cards in class, but only because we were forced to give one to everyone. But the looks in people’s eyes as they placed their pink, red, and white cards into certain classmate’s hastily constructed Valentine’s Bags definitely spoke volumes that they were not happy about the arrangement. I think that is where I started dreading the day. As I went through middle school and high school, the pressure changed to have a ‘date’ to spend the day with and go to the school dance with only increased the anxiety of the holiday.

By the time I got to college, I was so over the whole thing. In my mind it was just another reminder that I was without a date. The explosion of hearts, cherubic little angels, and all things frilly and lacy did not help my demeanor. (Especially since my friends know how I feel about the color pink in general – yuck.) And those awful heart candies that people give out? They always reminded me of chalk pressed into a little mold. Ok, yes… I definitely let the bitterness of the day take over.

But in college, I saw through those around me the heartbreak associated with dating. And I decided that I didn’t care how many Valentine’s Days (and other holidays) I had to spend alone. I made a committment with God that I didn’t want to date; at least not until He brought the man I was to marry into my life. Has it been the easiest road? Not always. There have been times that my heart longs to spend time with the man God has designed for me. But yet, the road has been easier in other ways. I have not had to worry about the heartbreak of dating the wrong person.

However, I am not without a love. Jesus has wooed me into a deeper love with Him. He is the lover of my soul.

Song of Solomon 2:10-13
My beloved spoke and said to me,
“Arise, my darling,
my beautiful one, come with me.
See! The winter is past;
the rains are over and gone.
Flowers appear on the earth;
the season of singing has come,
the cooing of doves
is heard in our land.
The fig tree forms its early fruit;
the blossoming vines spread their fragrance.
Arise, come, my darling;
my beautiful one, come with me.”

Jesus has brought me through the desert, the winter is past. He loves me with an ever-lasting love. He showed his love to me one day while I was praying and worshipping – I had a picture of Him laying 100 red roses in my arms.

Someday He will bring my Mr. Someday to me and he will be someone who Jesus has hand-picked and molded for me. And who knows, I may actually learn to like Valentine’s Day.

Comments on: "Valentine’s Day, Singleness, and 100 Roses" (3)

  1. This day has the tone of “perfection is..”, just like at Christmas. All the hype is setting expectations,the pressure to accomplish those, and disappointment…all just earthly/secular ways we are to endure this man-made/money driven “day”. It is just that ..a day..if we love our Lord and strive to honor him we can let the pressure of what people have created drift away and let it be a day to love those around us. Nicole, you were born near Valentines day, and that day, Feb. 5th, held more love in it than I could ever measure as I held you in my arms…it even made your dad a bit speechless, and that didn’t happen often 🙂

  2. I must be a hopeless romantic. I like the “chalk” candy…haha

  3. If its any consolation I will be spending Valentines Day inflicting pain upon the physical manifestation of several couples love…..i.e. their offspring…..Love my job!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

