Musings from a promise-collector

Bitter-sweet Birthdays


Tomorrow is my birthday.

Birthdays are a bitter-sweet thing for me. They weren’t always, but they always will be.

A day of  celebration was quickly turned to tragedy on my 27th birthday. I got news that my dad had a massive stroke. He was already very unhealthy from Crohn’s disease, and his body could not fight back. Two days later, he went to be with the Lord. And I miss him.

Unfortunately, we didn’t have the kind of relationship that I desired until much later. But through the grace of God, I got to spend the last year and a half of my dad’s life developing the type of father-daughter relationship that all girls crave.

Since then, I’ve been taking consolation in Psalm 68:5-6, that says:

A father to the fatherless, a defender of widows,
is God in his holy dwelling.
God sets the lonely in families,
he leads out the prisoners with singing;
but the rebellious live in a sun-scorched land.

I have an Abba Father. He loves me so much that He has put people around me who love me and care for me. He led our family through a very dark time and has shown Himself to be so faithful. So even though my heart aches this time of year, I am so thankful for the time I had with my father that my Father gave to me. God knew how much I would treasure those last moments in my heart.

Someday I will get to see my dad again. Until then, I know my Abba has me in His hands.

Comments on: "Bitter-sweet Birthdays" (4)

  1. and He is oh so DEEPLY in love with you Nicole! I cant wait to celebrate with you tomorrow BIRTHDAY GIRL!

  2. It’s been 3 years now. We can be comforted by “no more suffering” for him. Someday we’ll see that healing….blessings on your birthday as you celebrate with friends.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

