Musings from a promise-collector

A dream, interrupted.


Have you ever had one of those dreams? It is so blissfully perfect that you do not want it to end? But of course you wake up, usually at the best part, and no matter what you do you cannot get back in. It is enough to put one in a yucky mood for the first few hours of the morning.

Being single, I sometimes daydream about what sort of a husband God will bring me someday. And sometimes I dream about it. In this dream, I met my Mr. Someday. True to dream-worldness, I walked down a grand flight of stairs to meet him. We began to talk. We were just about to leave on a date when it happened. An alarm went off. And not my alarm, either.  I think I may have audibly gasped. I quickly rolled over and willed myself back to sleep. Of course this practically never works, and I was afraid I would miss the best part!

Amazingly enough, I found myself back in the wonderful dream. However, the dream had kept playing while I was awake! I had missed the entire date – the best part! Where I picked it back up was the next day (in the dream-world). I saw him helping a friend move, asked him if he needed help (not very romantic, I know, but hey I’ll take what I can get). Mr. Someday said no, but confirmed that he would be picking me up that night at 6pm for another date. And that is when I woke up for good.

I can only assume that the date went well, if he wanted to see me again the next night. I guess for now I will just have to wait for God to bring Mr. Someday to me so that I can see how the rest of the dream goes. Except, then it won’t be a dream….

Comments on: "A dream, interrupted." (5)

  1. so sweet nicole! i love your blog, and im excited to see what God has for youuu!!!

  2. I read somewhere that if you awake during a dream and want to remember it or return to it all you have to do is lay in the exact position you awoke. I thought it was silly until I tried it…it was successful almost everytime!!

  3. My dream about expanding my day care came again last night. I will continue to pray for your dream…as for mine, I think it sounds like more than I can handle, but I try to be open to His will. Sweet dreams Nicole!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

