Musings from a promise-collector


New Year’s Resolutions don’t all that much appeal to me. When I did attempt it, my intentions were good but I found that I was lucky if I was able to keep that resolution through the month of January. I used to get so frustrated with myself that I couldn’t keep that one little commitment. So I gave up on the whole things years ago. Looking back though, I can see why I was unsuccessful. Usually I had a well-intentioned idea, but I didn’t have a plan of action to help me achieve that goal. I have also come to realize another vital compotent in recent years: I need God’s help to achieve these goals. And I realize the importance of having God-centered goals as opposed to human-centered (dare I say, selfish?) goals.

A few years ago when I was living in the open plains of northwest Iowa, myself and my friend Michelle decided to do something different with the single’s Bible study we were leading. We challenged everyone to come to our meeting the week before New Year’s with a Bible verse that they could pray through the year. Something that encompassed an area of their life that they wanted to invite God into, to change that area. The verses that everyone came with were awesome! We brought index cards for everyone to write their verse out on, so they could put it on their mirror or desk, anywhere that they would see it daily to remind them of the declaration that they made to God. Throughout the year we checked in with the group to see how it was going. Everyone said that they liked this idea much more than a resolution, that this felt more real to them, that they were seeing results, that God was working! God loves it when we invite him into an area of our life – He always shows up.

So I find myself once again praying and seeking for a declaration verse for the New Year. I haven’t actually found the verse I am going to use yet. But I want to invite you to join me. Here are some examples you could consider:

  • If you are stressed about money, try Hebrews 13:5 or Luke 12:22-31 (you can pick any verse from that section).
  • Concerned about the future? Try Romans 8:37-39 or Jeremiah 29:11-13.
  • If you are looking for strength to handle the tasks around you, try Philippians 4:13.
  • If you want to worry less, try Psalm 27:1 or 1 Peter 5:7.
  • Do you want to be more worshipful? Try Psalm 100.
  • Looking for contentment? Try Philippians 4:11.
  • Desire wisdom? Try 1 Corinthians 1:30 or James 1:5.
  • If you struggle with your tongue, try Psalm 34:12-13 or 1 Peter 3:10.
  • Do you want to live at peace? Try Psalam 119:165 or Hebrews 12:14.
  • Want to take better care of yourself? Try 1 Corinthians 6:19-20.

I could keep going – but if you desire to find a declaration verse for the year, pray about it. God will show you the verse he wants you to use. Then be open to what He wants to do in and through you in the next year. I guarantee that you will see God move!

Whatever verse you use, don’t forget to write it down and put it where you will see it every day. And you feel comfortable with it, I would love it if you share here on the blog what verse you’ve chosen. When I find mine, I will post it here as well.

Oh, and have a blessed and

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *

January 2 – Update

My verse of the year comes from Ephesians 3:17b-19:

And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, 18 may have power, together with all the Lord’s holy people, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, 19 and to know this love that surpasses knowledge—that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.

Comments on: "A Resolution? How About a Declaration?" (5)

  1. Great blog post Nicole!! My verse for 2011 is Hebrew 11:29 as I dare to step obediently into the unknown!!

  2. I love this Nicole. I am going to be praying that God helps me be a better wife and mother. I am meditating on Proverbs 31:10-25. Happy New Year!

  3. […] year, I wrote about choosing a verse of the year in place of making a resolution (read about it here). After much prayer, the verse that the Lord led me to last year was Ephesians 3:17b-19. And I pray […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

