Musings from a promise-collector

Spiritual Heritage


I had the honor of spending many years getting to know my great-grandparents on my dad’s side, before they went to be with their beloved Jesus. I might sound a little swayed in my opinion, but my great-grandparents were some of the most steadfast people I have ever known. To give you an example of their faithfulness, my great-grandpa had a little pin he was awarded for perfect Sunday School attendance… for 50 years straight! And he wore that pin very proudly. That’s some pretty serious dedication – they never missed church, no exceptions. But they weren’t just church-goers. They truly did love God and desired to serve him. I remember a little cabinet in their house that held some little gifts that were given to them by missionaries that they supported and hosted at their home. And I can’t help think about the Proverbs 31 woman when I think of my great-grandma. They were both amazing models of gentleness and strength. You couldn’t ask for better examples on how to live the Christian life!

What makes their legacy so important to me recently is how they helped me go to Israel in September. Not that they were planning for me to go there… not in the literal sense, anyway. But each year for Christmas they would give us each (my parents, myself, and my brother) savings bonds. As a kid on Christmas day I would think, “How am I supposed to play with this?!”, but of course I’d smile and politely say, “thank you”. Now, as an adult, I see the great wisdom in their act in a gift deferred. And because of their act, I was able to see the Holy Land. Not that I was able to pay for the whole trip, or even half of the trip, with the savings bonds – but through the combination of their gifts and other gifts, God provided everything I needed to see His land. And I know that they both would be so proud of me for using their gifts to see the most special of places – a place that they never got to see.

I am so incredibly thankful for the legacy of faithfulness that they left in our family. And I cannot wait to see them again someday in heaven and thank them for how they led by example and for their gift – and tell them all that I saw and did because of them. I wish I could show you their beautiful faces, but unfortunately I am states away from any photographs that we have of them. So, at this time, they are remembered in deed.

Proverbs 13:22 – A good man leaves an inheritance for his children’s children, but a sinner’s wealth is stored up for the righteous.

Do you have a story of the spiritual heritage of your family you can share? I’d love to hear about it!

Comments on: "Spiritual Heritage" (1)

  1. It is such a blessing to have this heritage.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

