Musings from a promise-collector

Jet-lagging


I arrived back in the States on Saturday from a simply wonderful time in Israel. Unfortunately I’m still fighting the effects known as jet-lag. One thing is for certain – they got the ‘lag’ part right! My body is revolting against coming back to my time zone. Why is it that it is so easy to get into a new time zone? Could it be the adrenaline that helps us adjust quickly to a new place? Maybe I need to get more excited about coming back home so my body eases into the time of origin better. But, to be honest, I wasn’t excited about coming home. Not that I don’t love Knoxville and the people here… I just completely fell in love with Israel and it’s people. I told my group that they could sell me for camels and leave me behind – I would have been completely content with that.

I am hoping and praying that I will get to return to the Holy Land soon – like maybe next summer! If not, I do take consolation in the fact that someday there will be a New Jerusalem, part of the new heaven and new earth. So I will get to return to that beautiful place someday… hopefully just sooner rather than later!

And I do promise to begin posting stories from my adventure soon. That is, when my brain gets out of this jet-lagged fog and I can think slightly more coherent thoughts for more than 2 minutes and 28 seconds at a time.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

